Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


February 1, 2017
Levi's Stadium to host CONCACAF Gold Cup final

Levi's Stadium will host the CONCACAF Gold Cup final on July 26.
Levi's Stadium will host the CONCACAF Gold Cup final on July 26.
Photo courtesy of CONCACAF
MIAMI -- CONCACAF announced Wednesday that this summer's Gold Cup Final will be held at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif. July 26.

Levi’s Stadium is one of the 14 venues in 13 cities that will host the competition, the 14th in the tournament’s history.

Opened in 2014, Levi’s Stadium has hosted events of a global magnitude, including the sold-out inaugural match of last year's Copa America Centenario, as well as Super Bowl 50 last year.

“Levi’s Stadium has quickly earned a place among America’s top stadiums in terms of atmosphere, amenities and fan experience,” CONCACAF President Victor Montagliani said. “We’re proud to now bring the Final of the Gold Cup – the region’s top competition for national teams – to the Bay Area, building on the resounding success of the Copa America Centenario opener, which drew record crowds last year.”

Played every two years across the United States, the competition brings the region’s top national teams to fans throughout the country. This year’s edition will visit venues that include first-time host city Santa Clara, as well as fellow debutants Cleveland, Nashville, and San Antonio, as the tournament reaches new markets to satisfy the growing demand for international football in the North American market.

“Being chosen to host the 2017 Gold Cup Final at Levi’s Stadium is a great honor for our organization and we look forward to welcoming soccer fans from across the Northern Hemisphere to Santa Clara in July,” San Francisco 49ers President Al Guido said. “We want to thank CONCACAF for entrusting the championship match of their storied Gold Cup with us and we look forward to working with our local partners to put on an epic grand finale.”

Following the completion of the Copa Centroamericana earlier this month, champion Honduras has qualified for this Gold Cup, along with El Salvador, Costa Rica and Panama. Those teams join seven other national teams: Canada, Mexico and the United States from North America, as well as Curacao, French Guiana, Jamaica, and Martinique from the Caribbean.

Haiti and Nicaragua will face off in a home-and-away play-in series during the FIFA match dates March 24 and 28 to decide the Gold Cup’s 12th and final berth.

The groups and full schedule for the 2017 Gold Cup will be revealed in March.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved