Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Teams


January 11. 2016
Carli Lloyd named FIFA women's world player of the year; Jill Ellis top coach

Carli Lloyd, the Golden Ball winner of the Women's World Cup, was named FIFA women's world player of the year.
Carli Lloyd, the Golden Ball winner of the Women's World Cup, was named FIFA women's world player of the year.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
ZURICH, Switzerland -- After securing the United States' third FIFA Women's world Cup crown last summer, team captain and midfielder Carli Lloyd and head coach Jill Ellis were feted with the highest honors possible.

Lloyd Monday was named FIFA women's world player of the year and Ellis the women's coach of the year.

The Houston Dash midfielder was the overwhelming winner.

"I'm very, very honored and humbled," said Lloyd, who was also the 2015 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year.
"We all know that individual honors come from being a part of great teams and I want to thank all my teammates and coaches and the many people who have helped me along the way. It was a memorable year for all of us and I want to thank U.S. Soccer for their tremendous support of our National Team, as well as FIFA and everyone who voted. Now, we're all looking forward to the hard work it will take to achieve more success and continuing to the push the women's game to greater heights."

Lloyd earned 35.28 percent of all votes, ahead of German Célia Šašić (12.60 percent) and Japan’s Aya Miyama (9.88 percent). A total of 136 national team coaches, 135 national team captain and 106 media representatives voted for the award.

Lloyd was named the Golden Ball winner as the most valuable player of the World Cup, which was held in Canada last summer.

This marked the fourth time an American woman has been named FIFA Women's world player of the year following Abby Wambach in 2012 and Mia Hamm's selection in 2001 and 2002, the first two years the award was presented.

Ellis also won big. She secured 42.98 percent of all votes, ahead of Japan coach Norio Sasaki (17.79 percent) and England women’s national team coach Mark Sampson (10.68 percent). A total 137 national team coaches, 137 national team captains and 106 media representatives voted for the coach of the year.

"First and foremost, I want to thank the U.S. players, coaches and staff who made 2015 such a wonderful year for our team," said Ellis. "Success is truly a team effort, and as a coach, we are all a product of the players and coaches we've worked with over so many years. They all deserve recognition and thanks for being a part of this amazing journey. I want to thank Sunil Gulati and U.S. Soccer for their continuing world class support and resources dedicated to the women's game and of course all of my friends and family. I could not do this without their unconditional love and support."

Ellis became the second coach of a U.S. team to win the award, which was instituted in 2008, but the first American. Swede Pia Sundhage won the award in 2012 after leading the USA to the Olympic gold medal in London. Ellis led the USA to a 20-2-4 record in 2015, losing only the first and last matches of the year. In between, the USA went unbeaten in 24 consecutive games which included the championship at the Algarve Cup in Portugal and the seven-game run to the World Cup title.

The awards were presented during a 90-minute show at Zurich’s Kongresshaus that was hosted by Northern Irish actor James Nesbitt and British journalist Kate Abdo.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved